What’s love got to do with it?

This rather cynical question was poised to me today, by one of my loves. The answer, of course, is “Everything”.
Seriously… if it wasn’t for love, would I really bother with the time, energy, and effort of maintaining even a single relationship? Nevermind three! Sure, I might keep one person handy just for sex, but I’m not even sure that’s worth it. I can pleasure myself. It might not be as good as sex, but it’s quicker, cleaner, and I never have to worry about anybody else’s satisfaction. Reduced income would be matched or surpassed by reduced expenses. I have no problem living in a small house or apartment and eating ramen noodles, hot dogs, and mac & cheese. I can find companionship on the internet aplenty. Love is not just a reason, it’s the reason. Without it, I’d just as soon put a bullet in my head. It’s what makes life worth living, the reason I keep a job, and why I put up with bullshit I’d rather not put up with.

It’s also a good Tina Turner song.

~ by polywolf on 2009/11/12.

One Response to “What’s love got to do with it?”

  1. Oh so very true, in fact I have to remind myself of this whenever I think wtf and I doing trying to juggle two men and the sometimes crap that comes with it.

Leave a Reply

 
